Ayurveda – The Science of Life

Ayurveda has its roots in one of the oldest philosophical texts of the world, the Rig Veda, almost
6000 years old. Ayurveda is a science of life (Ayur = life, Veda = science or knowledge) and is
fondly called the ‘mother of all healing sciences’.

The three—body, mind and soul—are like a tripod, the world stand by their combination; in
them everything abides. It is the subject matter of Ayurveda for which the teachings of Ayurveda
have been revealed.

Charaka Samhita(1.46-47)

Ayurveda has always sought to prepare mankind for the realization of the full potential of his self
through a psychosomatic integration.

The Pillars

According to the Rig Veda, the basic principles of Ayurveda are:

The Panchamahabhut or the five basic elements of the entire creation – earth, water, fire, air and ether.These five elements in different combinations constitute the three body types or Doshas — Vatadosha (air and ether), Pitta dosha (fire) and Kapha dosha (earth and water).
The Panchamahabhut and the Dosha theories are the guiding factors of Ayurveda as a therapeutic science. The Rig Veda also mentions organ transplants and herbal remedies called soma with properties of elixir.The knowledge of healing, Ayurveda, was revealed to Rishi Bharadvaja from the great Cosmic Intelligence.

Evidences show that Ayurveda had nurtured almost all the medical systems of the world.

The Egyptians had learnt about Ayurveda long before Alexander. Unani was born after Greeks and Romans come to know about Ayurveda. In the early part of the first millennium Ayurveda spread to the East through Buddhism and greatly influenced the Tibetan and Chinese system of medicine and Herbology. In 800 AD, Ayurveda was translated into Arabic.

In the postmodern age, the popularity of this vibrant tradition of Ayurveda lies in its, subtle yet scientific, approach to heal a person in its totality. It aims, not only at healing the body, but also  the mind and spirit, at one go. Perhaps that's the reason behind Ayurveda being the longest unbroken medical tradition in the world, today.

In Ayurveda, Vata, Pitta and Kapha are known as the three doshas, or regulating forces of nature.Ayurvedic wisdom holds that equilibrium or balance of these three doshas is extremely important.

Dosha Primary Elements

Vata Air + Ether, Pitta Fire + Water, Kapha Water + Earth
A balanced state of Vata, Pitta, Kapha leads to perfect health, and an imbalance of any one ofthese leads to illness.


Vata embodies the energy of movement and is associated with wind. Vata is linked to creativity and flexibility; and movement especially, of the breath, the heart, muscle contractions, cellular mobility and communication through the mind and the nervous system.


Pitta represents the energy of transformation and so is associated with fire. Pitta is neither mobile
nor stable, but spreads like the warmth of fire that permeates its surroundings. Pitta is closely
related to intelligence, understanding, and digestion.


Kapha lends structure, solidity, and cohesiveness, and is associated with the earth and water elements. Kapha also embodies the watery energies of love and compassion. This dosha hydrates all cells and systems, lubricates the joints, and moisturizes the skin.


Shopping cart

Sidebar Scroll To Top